Nursing students and leaders inducted into honor society

March 27th, 2017 | SMWC

2017 SMWC Honor Society of Nursing inductees
The inaugural group of inductees to the SMWC Honor Society of Nursing.

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College’s (SMWC) Department of Nursing hosted its first induction to the SMWC Honor Society of Nursing on Saturday. This prestigious honor society accepts top students and community leaders for membership.

The Society sets individuals apart as an elite group of nursing students who exhibit a commitment to excellence. The 2017 class represents an elite group of nurses at various career stages. Specifically, seven students in the campus program and four in the Woods Online RN-BSN program were recognized for academic achievement. Six nurse leader members were also inducted in the ceremony on Saturday where president of the chapter, Yei-Jin Yeom, Ph.D., R.N., assistant professor of nursing, presided.

The students agreed the event was the culmination of the efforts of a lot of hard work.

Shannon Lueking, from Carmel, Ind., explained, “I’m feeling a lot of emotions today. I am thankful to have this opportunity at The Woods. And I’m grateful to have all of the resources from our great faculty and staff to help us to be successful as leaders in the nursing profession.”

Shannon Lueking with Yei-Jin Yeom
SMWC Nursing student, Shannon Lueking, receives her induction certificate from chapter president, Yei-Jin Yeom, Ph.D., R.N., assistant professor of nursing.

The induction marks the day in the institution’s history when SMWC will have its own chapter of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). STTI requires 50 active members to establish a chapter. This global organization has more than 135,00 members in more than 90 countries.

Marcia Miller, Ph.D., R.N., professor and chair of the department of nursing said, “We are thrilled that we are moving forward with our own chapter to promote scholarship, research, service and leadership. The STTI affiliation helps us distinguish ourselves as a high-performance program and institution.”

Membership to the SMWC Honor Society of Nursing is by invitation only and open to nursing students and registered nurses. Candidates for membership are invited to the based on their grade point average (3.5 or above) and rank in the top of their class and completion of at least half of the nursing curriculum. Candidates for nurse leader members must be registered nurses and demonstrate notable achievement in the field of nursing.

Honor Society of Nursing Inductees

BSN Students

  • Kendall Fry 
  • Shannon Lueking 
  • Ashley McKee
  • Alixandra Shank-Mulligan
  • Ashley Todd
  • Jessica Wireman
  • Kaci Zimmerman

RN to BSN Students

  • Donnetta Burgess, R.N.
  • Mandie Hawkins, R.N.
  • Peggy Robinson, R.N.
  • Donna Roseberry, R.N.

Nurse Leaders

  • Erica Dean, B.S.N., R.N.
  • Nicole Johnson, B.S.N., R.N.
  • Holly Lee, B.S.N., R.N.
  • Tammy Popovich, B.S.N., R.N.
  • John Shields, B.S.N., R.N.
  • Tracy Thomas, B.S.N., R.N.