The awards program of the Alumni Association of Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College honors the achievements of outstanding alumni and friends by presenting six prestigious awards annually. These awards recognize individuals for their commitment to the College and to their communities.

Alumni, faculty, staff and friends are all encouraged to submit nominations by completing a nomination form. Nominations are accepted year-round. However, each award has a specific deadline indicated on the nomination form. Questions about the awards program should be directed to the Office of Alumni Relations at 812-535-5143 or via e-mail at

Alumni Faculty Leadership and Service Award

This award recognizes a full-time or part-time faculty member of the College who has demonstrated outstanding leadership resulting in added benefit for the students.

Distinguished Alumni Award

This award recognizes alumni for professional achievements and dedication.

Frances Murphy Rumely Award

The Frances Murphy Rumely award is presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding dedication to and leadership within civic, religious or educational organizations.

G.O.L.D.E.N. Oak Award

The G.O.L.D.E.N. Oak Award, established in 2020, recognizes a Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College Graduate Of the Last Decade Engaging Now. The award celebrates professional achievement, continued service and outstanding personal characteristics.

Saint Mother Theodore Guerin Award

This award is presented to an alumna/alumnus who embodies the spirit and virtue of our foundress, Saint Mother Theodore Guerin.

Undergraduate and Graduate Leadership and Service Award

These awards recognize a graduating senior and a graduate student who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and service during their time at SMWC.